Revolution Fest IV – Interview with THULSA DOOM

Thulsa Doom, a punk band from New York originally formed in 1997-1998, will participate in the 4th Revolution Fest’s edition, an antifascist, anticapitalist and feminist festival, co-organized by Montreal Sisterhood and RASH-MTL. The band will play on October 7th and will share the stage with Traitre (France), Action Sédition, Guernica and Resistance.

Here is an interview with Thulsa Doom, part of a series of interviews that will presents a few bands participating in this 4th edition of the Revolution Fest.

10547985_661119873965675_6676890440956317488_o

 

-For those who don’t know you, can you introduce your band?

We are Thulsa Doom (NYC), formed in 1997/98. We broke up in 2000 when Leora moved away to have a baby. We reformed in 2011 and have been playing selectively. We are still all original members; Simon-guitar, Mike Tracey-drums, Mike House-bass and Leora-vocals

421254_262346020509731_558444972_n

-What does the scene look like in New-York?

Simon- Very post internet. A point in punk history duplicated impeccably… too impeccably if you ask me

Tracey– High commercial real estate leads to enforced zoning regulations; leads to a lack of space. Very disheartening.

Leora– I moved away from NYC in 2001 and relocated to Philadelphia. In recent years Philly has been experiencing a mass influx of population overflow coming from NYC now that it’s become outrageously overpriced. This was a problem in the NYC scene in the late 90s, too many punks with different ideals working against each other instead of with each other. This is what I’ve begun to witness in the current Philly scene. On the one hand it’s great to see such a large community, but on the other hand the size has left the community very disconnected from itself.

-Are there any bands you’d like us to know about?

Simon– WORST DAYS (Providence, RI)
Tracey– FESTER YOUTH (Los Angeles)
Leora– ZORN (Philly)

-What do you know about Canada?

Simon– A very good place to be. Vast, yet small.
Tracey– Good Beer. I love hockey so I demanded to start coming here from a young age. I try to see a junior hockey league game whenever I come up.
Leora– To be honest, I don’t know much. I drove a band on tour to Varning Fest one year and experienced Montréal for the first time. That was pretty intimidating. I don’t have the stamina to keep up with the 4am after shows. From the little I know about Canadian politics, it seems like the people come first. I can admire that.

-What made you want to play at Revolution Fest?

Simon– Seems like a wonderful and purely organic event.
Tracey– I love Québec. Always have, since I was a little kid.
Leora– Every time we get invited to play these type of festivals I feel honored. I cherish the opportunities to pick up where we left off and share the music that meant so much to me as a teen. Bonus, this will be our first time leaving the states.

-Where do you stand, politically?
Simon– As far left as one can go before turning in a circle.
Tracey– I prefer action to stances. I work as an immigration attorney working with undocumented youth and asylees. Take that for what it’s worth.
Leora– Over the years my views have evolved. As a homeowner and business owner, I am beginning to see politics with a new perspective. I have come to realize that many of my romantic ideas as a youth are simply not practical. I don’t find myself leaning to any side as much as listening and applying what I learn to my own way of life without infringing on the rights of others.

-What are the main struggles in New York at the moment?

Simon– Trying to live frugally in a ridiculously expensive city.
Tracey– The suburbanization of poverty.
Leora– Sounds like the reason I left is still the biggest problem; too expensive for the working class.

11960044_860507544026906_9103301591762913148_n

-What are your next projects?
Simon– Split with Fuck You Pay Me
Tracey– Fatherhood
14368690_1075935449150780_7819716114062962267_nLeora– We recorded some new tracks earlier this year but had some delays with the other band we were supposed to split with. We sneaked these tracks onto our Canadian Promo tapes that were made just for this fest. I hate the idea of sitting on great songs, so you all will be the first to hear them (they’re not even online). Our goals for the near future include more touring; West Coast, Midwest, Japan, Europe. We’d love to go where ever people want to see us. We don’t plan to get rich from this band, it was never about that so moving forward we don’t expect to cash in. We’re simply enjoying the opportunity to share our music with so many new and old fans and the stage with so many influential and inspiring bands.

– Any last words?
Simon– Thanks for having us.
Tracey– Always wanted to play up here, I can’t thank you folks enough.
Leora– Yes, thank you thank you thank you. I will be at our table all day, I don’t plan to say much (gotta save the voice) but I love to meet everyone so please come and say hi, talk to me. I won’t talk back much but I love to listen.

Laisser un commentaire

